The 12 Different Zodiac Signs And The Meanings Behind Them

Zodiac signs are an interesting subject for study. Every human being is classified under the 12 zodiac signs. Each of the signs has different characteristic and these characteristic influence our life to a certain extent.

Below is a short description about each of the zodiac signs, in chronological order:


The sun represents the first stage in the evolution of man and his place in the universe, evident in the character and make-up of the Aries personality. As an Aries individual grows up, he/she understands their karmic responsibility and accepts that they are not the center of the universe but a part of the larger social order.

Aries are born ‘doers’. Their astrological symbol is Ram. By the sheer force of energy and enthusiasm with which they accomplish their goals, it is sufficient to think that an Aries “ram” their way to success. Before an Aries assess the practicality or the worth of their actions, they take into consideration their emotions.


The Taurus is the second stage in the evolution of man. A Taurean has the possessive and clings to people they regard as their own. They conserve the abundant psychical resources and their strongest desire is personal security.

When disappointed from their world, they totally retreat into themselves. They believe in creating loving personal relationships. Break in trust value can make them promiscuous. To feel emotionally secure, a Taurean can go to the extent of sacrificing meaningful and enduring relationships. The sign is rules by Venus, the planet of beauty and pleasure, and astrologically, the representative sign is Bull.


The Gemini is the third stage in the evolution of mankind. Gemini is interested in developing their intellect and understands the universe. They are primarily concerned with gathering information and they express their innovative ideas willfully.

A Gemini can become a serious scholar and a careful researcher. Without proper guidance, they become immature and kind of “jack of all trades but master of none”. The sign is ruled by Mercury and a Gemini person is usually talkative and quick witted.


The Cancer is the fourth stage in the evolution of mankind. The need for cancer is not individual survival but survival through the perpetuation of species. It is a sign of nurture and fertility. They are family oriented and very close to their personal relationships.

Cancerians are doers and achieve anything they set their mind to. They react emotionally to circumstances. The practicality of a situation comes to their mind later. The sign is ruled by Moon. Cancerians can be outwardly gregarious and secretive about their personal matters.


The Leo represents the fifth stage in the evolution of mankind and their primary need is to develop the creative urge of man. Their sign is not entirely emotional and the sign is also an expression of man’s ‘ego’.

It represents the man’s ultimate individuality, a perfect balance between mind and heart. If their egos are hurt, they tend to become tyrannical and self – centered, stubborn and impervious. The sign is ruled by the Sun. Leos are natural entertainers and derive pleasure in helping others. They know how to enjoy life.


The Virgo is the sixth sign and represents the need to develop man’s creative potential and individuality. It is the sign of service and they try to make things better by pursuing service-sector careers.

The sign is ruled by Mercury. The Virgo has an analytical approach to life and they are good in communication too. They are artistic in nature and most Virgo’s are talkative as well.


The Libra is the seventh sign and represents the balance between individual and society. It is not merely a sign of partnership. Inside a Libran, the person seeks to compromise between passion and intellect.

Sometimes, the usually charismatic and passionate Libra can be cold and unemotional. The sign is ruled by Venus. Librans appreciate beauty in all forms. They have good manners and maintain high level of diplomatic attitude. They have impressive physical energy and stamina.


The Scorpio is the eight sign and represents a greater development of emotional involvement in all matters. They have innate understanding of human emotions and they play an impressive role in the process of life and death.

Sometimes a Scorpio is stubborn and impervious to change that is not of their own making. Scorpions have the tendency to react emotionally to everything. The sign is ruled by Pluto and their personality is magnetic and powerful. They are also strong and competitive in nature.


The Sagittarius is the ninth sign and seeks to control emotional power with knowledge. They have an intellectual curiosity and interest to cover a wide range of subjects. They are factual in nature.

Sagittarians become easily bored and restless when surrounded by circumstances they don’t have interest in. The sign is ruled by Jupiter, the planet of good luck and fortune. They are optimistic and friendly in nature, and they are enthusiastic sportspersons as well.


The Capricorn is the tenth sign and represents the desire for authoritarian control. Capricorns are rather conventional in nature and they are adopting the policy that “the end justifies the means”. Sometimes, Capricorns can be guilty of not following the rules they make.

Like other astrological signs, Capricorns are doer in nature and they are determined to achieve things they set their mind to. The sign is ruled by Saturn. They maintain proper behavior and though and throughout their life, they are bound by rules and regulations.


The Aquarius is the eleventh sign and represents the role of making the societal organizations function. Their loyalty and societal orientation are the reasons why they tend to attract many friends and acquaintances in life. They are “people’s person” and not interested in amassing great wealth. The sign is ruled by Uranus, previously it was Saturn. They are compatible in nature and sometimes unpredictable.


The Pisces is the twelfth sign and represents all that has been learned and assimilated in order to gain perfection. The last sign is symbolic of existence between individual and humanity as a single unity.

The sign is ruled by Pisces and they have all the sensitive qualities found in man. It is a sign associated with spirituality and they thirst for knowledge and understanding.


Angela Moore started Psychic Review Online in 2008. After being ripped off and deceived by a mother/daughter team and then having her life completely turned around by a real Psychic, she has dedicated herself to helping people avoid fake Psychics. Angela provides tips, psychic reviews, ratings and more on her website Psychic Review Online


  1. Avatar
    Freddy Randolph June 18, 2014

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  2. Avatar
    Kerrie Walthall September 21, 2014

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after looking at some of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m certainly happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!


Leave reply